MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts)

/ MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts) #1  

LongJohn01

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 135
Hi

This is my first post to this forum. I must say its impressive!.

I have an MF 135 with a faulty generator problem. I have seen a few posts about how to identify issues with it so I will get that sorted out.

My question is how much power (watts) will the standard 12V generator put out? I am not an auto electrician so I don't have a clue. I was hoping it would have enough to add extra driving lights on the MF 135. Does anyone know?

Last edited:
   / MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts) #2  
The 135 operator manual says that the charging rate for that 12V generator is 10-12 amps. So 120-144 watts. That's pretty puny IMHO. For about $50 you can get a rebuilt Delco 10SI alternator that will deliver 45-50 amps (that's what I have on my 135).

Good luck.

/ MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts)
Thanks Guys, I will check it out.

/ MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts) #5  
Convert to a Delco alternator. thats what i did to my 165.

/ MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts) #6  
LongJohn01 said:
Thanks Guys, I will check it out.

If you where a bit closer like a couple thousand miles :) I'd sell you my old one.

/ MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts) #7  
G'day John and :welcome: shoot of to the car wreckers and get an internally reg alt of any 80s model commodore or falcon they should be 55amp + and mount it up where the genny is ( you may need to adjust or space the brackets to suit ). You will need to put in another ign switch (one that goes from off, run, heat, start) and a small indicator light on the dash to run the exciter wire through and you are all set. If you need more detailed info then send me a PM and I will send you instructions on detailed wiring.

Jon

/ MF 135 generator problem - how much power (watts)