MF 150 Oil Leak Repair

/ MF 150 Oil Leak Repair #1  

TnWV

Platinum Member
Tractor
2003 Zetor 4341 w/FEL, 1970 MF 150, 2012 JD X530
I have mentioned in several other threads that I have an MF150. I don't use it much so I have been neglecting an oil leak for several years, just adding oil each time I want to run it. Recently it has began to leak too much to risk it, literally a quart or two will run out in just an our or two of running it. I decided it was time to tear it down and replace every gasket on the engine and clean it up real good. My first thought was that the front and rear engine seals were the main cuplprits, as well as the timing gear cover, oil pan, and valve cover. Yesterday I used about a gallon of purple power and washed it up real good. After this, I found that the majority of the oil is indeed coming from the front engine seal and the oil pan. It doesn't appear that the rear main seal is leaking, but I'll be replacing it any way while its apart. I also found that the water pump is shot, so I'll be ording one this morning as well. Yesterday afternoon, I managed to get the Hood, bumper, fuel tank, radiator cover, and pretty much everything else off to give me access to the engine. I also got my engine hoist, and jack stands in place and ready to remove the front end so that I can drop the pan. I forgot my phone at the house when I did the dissassembly, so no pictures of that yet. This tractor belonged to my father, and I will eventually do a full restoration (hopefully as good as MasseyWV is doing on his 135), but for now I just want to get it in good operational condition. As is, the Perkins diesel runs very strong, and everything else on the tractor functions very well. I will be purchasing a new tiller in the next couple weeks and want to use this tractor to run it. I don't really have any specific questions for now, but I'm sure they will come as I get deeper into the repair, so I figured I would start a thread to share the experience and col