main bearings

/ main bearings #1  

Housel

Tractor
massey ferguson 50
I have a mf50 with a gas z134 and I need to replace the main and rod bearings.Will I have to remove the crankshaft to change the main bearings?

/ main bearings #2  
Howdy Housel.

I'm not a mechanic but I do tear stuff apart from time to time and sometimes I get it back together. I believe it is possible to remove the bearing caps one at a time. The one half of the bearing will be with the cap and you may be able to roll the other half of the bearing out with the bearing from the cap or some other implement. I have never tore a tractor engine down but have done some truck motors. I always pulled the crank out so I could better evaluate the gernals on the crank. I have heard of people heating a bearing in oil to get it back together.

So I believe it can be done I have just never done it myself. Many folks will advise against it unless you know the crank has never been turned down (which would require an oversized bearing) and the gernals are in good shape. I do understand that sometimes you have to do what you can get by with. Just a word of warning, in the long run it could end up costing more. I try to repairs things the best way I can afford at the time.

I am interested in hearing any sucess stories folks have had doing it this way. I wish you luck and have a good evening. Do keep us posted how it turns out be it good or bad.

v/r

Mike

/ main bearings #3  
I have done quite many in frame overhauls this way. Just slightly loosen all your main bearing caps then remove one at a time and roll out the old bearings roll in the new. I use a flexible piece of plastic to push bearings in and out with to prevent marring the crank.

/ main bearings #4  
Howdy pjbci,

How do you determine if the crank has never been turned before, do you just use plastigauge?

v/r

Mike

/ main bearings #5