Pto problems

/ Pto problems #2  
:welcome:

/ Pto problems #3  
P.t.o.has stopped working on 399 massey whats the solution

To start, I have no experience with a 399 since it was built in England. It may be very close in design with the 100 series tractors and will address your situation using the information I have gathered on those tractors and hopefully someone with better knowledge will post.
I checked Tractordata.com and found that your tractor has independent PTO. This means that the clutch is hydraulicly operated. According to the same website your tractor may have a high / low shift which on the older tractors was called "Multipower". Do you have this feature? The 100 series tractors were available with independent PTO and independent PTO with Multipower. If you have both Multipower and independent PTO, they are likely powered from a common auxiliary pump mounted on top of the main hydraulic pump in the differential.

First, is your transmission / differential fluid to the proper level and in good condition? If you have the power shift feature, does it work properly? If it doesn't work, and the PTO doesn't work it indicates the pump is likely bad or the relief valve could be stuck. If the power shift works it may be the valve for the independent PTO not working properly or the PTO clutch is bad. On the cover for the PTO lever is there a fitting? If there is, this is probably a place a pressure gage can be hooked to check the auxiliary pump pressure. You will need to get a service manual for this tractor to give you all the needed pump pressure levels needed to properly operate all the options on the tractor. Hope this gives you a starting point and someone else will help out with more detailed information.

namyessam

/ Pto problems #4