1950 TO-20 Won't Start...

/ 1950 TO-20 Won't Start... #1  

Maverick7Wi

Tractor
Ferguson TO-20
Hello All,

I first have to admit I am no mechanical genius, so I'll do the best I can. When I try to start the TO-20, there is one "click" and then nothing. The battery is good. I'm hoping its not the starter as that appears to be a fairly expensive part. At this point, I'm just looking for some initial troubleshooting ideas so I can rule things out. Thanks!

/ 1950 TO-20 Won't Start... #2  
Do you have the OEM starter actuation through the gear shift lever? If you do, the switch on the bell housing may need adjusting or replacement.
Also check the chasis ground for the battery. make sure it is "bright andf tight", i.e. the connection is clean and has good contac. make sure that the starter is tight to the chasis and that the contact area on the flange is "bright and tight". Make sure your battery connections are "bright an tight" and your cables are not corroded internally. Using jumper cables connect the battery ground terninal to the starter retention bolt. Connect the other jumper to the other battery terminal. Make sure the tractor is not in gear because you will be bypassing the safety feature. Now touch the battery lead to the stud on the starter motor. If the engine turns over the starter is good and the problem is in the cables connections, cables or starter switch.

/ 1950 TO-20 Won't Start... #3  
There will be no "safety features" on that tractor! ;-)

But consider
It's not that the tractor won't start, it's that it will not turn over with the starter. It may very well start with a pull in gear or if it had a hand starter (It doesn't)

But

Your saying the battery is good, is not sufficient. How is it good? NEW and charged? Has it started other engines? Have you measured the voltage while the starter is activated? (should be 6.2V when not called on, and dropping to 4-5 V when the starter system contacts are made.