Massey Ferguson 135

/ Massey Ferguson 135 #1  

SCDolphin

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota L5240: Craftsman GT6500
I am new to old tractors. Is the MF 135 a good tractor........what for series is it close to in features??

thanks

/ Massey Ferguson 135 #2  
Pound for pound, dollar for dollar, the 135 Massey Ferguson just might have been the best utility tractor ever made. They are still a great seller. Well balanced, good power, VERY reliable, all the bells and whistles a tractor of it's day should have. They're comparable to a Ford 3000, only MUCH more desireable.

They have live power, about half have power steering, good hydraulics, easy starting, and VERY easy to get parts for. There were a few choices for engines over their production run. A 4 cyl. gas Continental, a 4 cyl. diesel/ 3cyl. diesel Perkins. Some had "Multi-Power" transmissions. That was a nice feature WHEN IT WORKS, but was about the only un-reliable option ever to grace the 135.

The only tractor (of this size and age) I like MORE than the 135 would be the 150 Massey Ferguson. It was almost the same tractor, with the exception of having a heavier front axle, better mounting points for a loader, and a bigger fuel tank.

I'm about as much of a die-hard John Deere fan as you will ever run up against, but credit where credit is due..... The 135 Massey was a tough act to beat. (still is in my humble opinion....)

/ Massey Ferguson 135 #3  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( <font color="blue"> They're comparable to a Ford 3000, only MUCH more desireable. </font> )</font>

Just curious,why do you say that about the Ford ??? I know nothing about the Ford...but I know the Massey 135 is a very good and popular tractor....lots of them around.....

/ Massey Ferguson 135 #4  
The Ford 3000 is a good tractor. The 135 is a GREAT tractor. The 3000 won't last as long under the same conditions. (I've owned BOTH...SEVERAL of both in fact)

/ Massey Ferguson 135 #5