TO-20 carburator problem??

/ TO-20 carburator problem?? #1  

buckeyepost

Bronze Member
I just bought a 1951 TO-20 and am having some trouble with the carb I think. I'm new to tractors and carburators so I'm learning this as I go. I have only beening running it about once a week and when I fire it up it starts right away but if I shut it off while mowing it takes a few more cranks to start it and last time I parked it it wouldn't start at all. After I turn the fuel on to start it I noticed gas dripping out of what appears to be where the choke cable attaches to the carb. I talked to a guy who has been working on Fergies his whole life and said it sounds like I might need some carb work, possibly rebuilt. Anyone on here have the same problem or have any suggestions for me to try before taking the carb off completely? I love this tractor so far and I want to get it running again soon. Thanks!

/ TO-20 carburator problem?? #2  
Stuck float (needle and seat)... Ever so carefully, tab on the float bowl with something soft (wood, plastic) and see if the fuel stops from coming out. BUT the best way, just remove the section of the carb where the fuel line goes in, that is where the needle and seat live, remove the float and the needle will be seen, remove it and clean the needle and the hole that it goes into. Sorry best I can do without knowing the carb.

/ TO-20 carburator problem??
Thanks! I'll give it a shot tomorrow. Good to know that it doesn't sound like it is too serious.

/ TO-20 carburator problem?? #4