looking for advice on a 1965 MF 205 industrial tractor

/ looking for advice on a 1965 MF 205 industrial tractor #1  

Nickydubs

Hey all,

I'm a new property owner looking to turn my 30 acres into a small farm. I've been looking for a moderately sized diesel tractor with wide front end and a loader that I could run various implements, post hole digger, brushhog, etc.

I have a lot of mechanical experience with cars and trucks, some with tractors, and I don't have a lot of money. Because of this I've been looking for a fixer-upper, the type of machine that needs a lot of labor but not much in parts.

I thought I found one, here's the link:
1961 Massey Ferguson 205 Industrial Tractor w/loader&backhoe

I've talked with the seller and he said he loaned it to a friend who ran it low on oil and when it was returned to him it had a low end knock. He took off the oil pan and the rod bearing on #1 fell out with it. He said the crank looks to be in good shape but the rod itself is slightly galled. I figure to rebuild the engine, buy a new rod or two, and possibly hone the crank would not be too difficult, I've rebuilt engines before with much success. He has also told me he's willing to go as low as $1,650.

I am obviously wary about buying a tractor I haven't heard run, or been able to test hydraulics, etc., but the price sure is right. On top of that, the backhoe would be awful handy, I have a lot of drainage issues I need to deal with, a stream to reroute, a pond to dredge and a garden to till and if I had to rent equipment it could get pricey quick.