MF 65 Overheating

/ MF 65 Overheating #1  

mgmhistory

I have a 1958 MF 65 with the gas engine. After an hour of use, it overheats to the point of dying, steam and fluid overflow. After sitting a while it starts right up but this time is will not take an hour to overheat, much less. When this first happened I thought thermostat and so I replaced that and while I was doing that I notice the radiator is in bad shape so I replaced that along with the hoses. No luck, it is still over heating, any ideas. I am desperate as I have no way to haul it somewhere to be repaired. By the way I am no mechanic but can follow directions.

/ MF 65 Overheating #2  
You say you chg the Rad so it shouldn't be a problem with it.It could a faulty thermostat even if its new.What you can try is take the thermostat out and hold it over a steaming kettle and watch to see if it opens.You can pour hot water into a old jar and watch to see if it opens as well.If that all checks out then its a possibility the water pump isn't ciculating the water properly.One other thing is the engine block may need to be flushed out.Go to any parts store and buy a bottle [or 2] of radiator flush follow the directions on the bottle.Put new antifreeze in and that should hopefully help.The engine block could be all blocked with crud. Other then doing the above not sure what else to say other then it needs a good cleaning.Hope this helps.Larry

/ MF 65 Overheating
How can I tell if the water pump isn't circulating the water properly? I will try all the other things mentioned first of course.

/ MF 65 Overheating #4  
If the water pump is working, you should see a cross flow in the fluid in the radiator (looking thru the radiator cap hole). Any water mixing with the oil? I would not run the tractor till the engine quits anymore. Something internally is getting close to doing bad things. Ken Sweet

/ MF 65 Overheating #5