hydraulic pump? mf 180

/ hydraulic pump? mf 180 #1  

otisd85

hi all i am new to tractors, do not own one yet but i am seriously contemplating a mf 180 with a FEL i found at a local dealer. he said it needs a new pump for the FEL, as it moves very slow and only has 800lbs of pressure.

he is asking 4500 after he replaces the pump, but may take less the way it sits.

if i chose to buy it as is and fix it myself, how hard is it to replace this pump, where is it located, what all is involved, and where might i be able to find one?

i am new to tractors but not new to mechanics, so if its fairly simple and inexpensive, i would rather get it for a lesser price and do the work my self. what do you think? whats the tractor worth needing the pump replaced? or is there other problems to cause the low pressure problems, that he may have overlooked? i plan on getting service and maintenance manuals for whatever tractor i buy, to help with the work.

its a mf 180 diesel with FEL, all guages, multi power, diff lock, dual aux hydro ports, two stage clutch with live pto, good tires, and the heavy cast rear wheels.

Attachments

• DSCN0721.JPG
    DSCN0721.JPG
    182 KB · Views: 1,563
  • DSCN0719.JPG
    DSCN0719.JPG
    205.2 KB · Views: 4,395
   / hydraulic pump? mf 180 #2  
well worth $4500 with a new pump.

Depending on if it's a front mount pump or rear mount would decide what's involved & cost. I don't think it would be driven off one of the internal pumps, then there would be a lot of labor involved.

It may be worth letting him fix it, you could waste a lot of saved money chasing things if you don't know where to look.

/ hydraulic pump? mf 180 #3  
Depending on which pump they have it plumbed into, may explain why it is so slow. If off the main hyd. pump, which is for the 3 pt. lift, it may be slow, and in fact have a pulse feel to it, as it is a piston pump. You'd probably feel it more at an idle speed. Aftermarket rebuild kits can be found for around $235.00