MF 35-Want to do a Restoration

/ MF 35-Want to do a Restoration #1  

Ragged Edges

Tractor
John Deere 4500, Massey Ferguson 35 Deluxe (Work in Progress Project)
My Brother in Laws offered to give me this MF 35 Deluxe which I am going to take. I belive it is a 1964 based on the serial number data I found The serial number is SGM 252509. It hasnt been run in a few years but was running when the parked it. This tractor does have sentimental value to us since my father in law who passed away 3 years ago used it on the farm my wifes brothers and nephews now run.

I plan on doing (or attempting!) a restoration on this. I have never done a restoraton before but have been wanting to do one for some time.
Im trying to learn as much about these tractors as I can before I do anything to it. I have ordered a shop manual and some books on restoration. I plan on picking it up soon and bringing it home and giving it a good cleaning then attempting to get it running before I start anything.

If anyone would like like to share any information sources on restoration or these 35's, It would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks and whish me luck!
Mike

Attachments

• IMG_20120421_153628.jpg
    IMG_20120421_153628.jpg
    449.6 KB · Views: 3,057
  • IMG_20120421_154121.jpg
    IMG_20120421_154121.jpg
    972.5 KB · Views: 1,719
   / MF 35-Want to do a Restoration #2  
Good luck Mike. Mine was running well enough that I put it to use right away when we built our house. Changed some parts along the way over the past dozen or so years but the time is coming to do an overhaul.

I've only got the IT manual, will be looking for something better before starting the project.

/ MF 35-Want to do a Restoration #3  
Your tractor looks like an ideal candidate for a restoration. From the pictures, it appears that the Massey 35 has the Continental Z-134 4 cylinder gasoline engine. Parts are plentiful and reasonably priced, plus the older Massey tractors are easy to work on.

Tractor Data: