Oil & Fuel Help! Fuel Starvation?

/ Help! Fuel Starvation? #1  

kayaker

Tractor
Massey 1529
Hey guys- I could sure use some help. I've been browsing this forum for a couple years getting answers to all my tractor needs. I'm baffled at this point, which doesn't take a whole lot to begin with but can't seem to find an answer searching the forums.

I have a Massey Ferguson 1529 with almost 150 hours. Here lately, after running it for an hour it becomes rough running. It seems to do it more on an incline when really pulling a loud and sucking the fuel. It has occasionally done it on a decline and level ground. I have noticed while running the fuel in the fuel bowl hovers around the bottom of the filter. I'm thinking, this CAN'T be right? With the tractor OFF the fuel only fills up to about half way in the bowl. I have included pics below. The picture with fuel is before I started the engine. The second is after running the RPM's to 2500 and back down to Idle which is right at 1000.

Currently I have changed the fuel filter, inspected and cleaned air filter. Cleaned out the fuel tank. There seems to be good flow from the tank to the fuel bow. When I remove the line from the fuel bowl the fuel comes a screaming.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_1130.jpgIMG_1132.jpg

/ Help! Fuel Starvation? #2  
Check the fuel tank cap to see if the vent is open. Also if you have a leak in the suction side fuel line you could be sucking air into the fuel bowl. check the gasket for the fuel bowl that it is sealed.

/ Help! Fuel Starvation? #3  
I am not used to that kind of bowl. The ones I am used to, new unfiltered fuel coming in drives other fuel upward through a screen. If it were me, I'd check the things Randall mentioned, but make sure the seal at the top of the bowl is good, and the bowl is tight. Air can go places that liquids can't, so it could be you have a leak for air, but not for liquids. I have seen that in hydraulic suction lines before.