MF 1250 Headache - Won't Move

/ MF 1250 Headache - Won't Move #1  

HallowedWeasel

Tractor
Massey Ferguson 1250
Hello TBN Massey forum! I purchased a used MF 1250 from a friend last year, and she's been great so far! Lurking this forum has helped me with my tractor maintenance. Thank you all so much!

Unfortunately, I am not a mechanic by any means, so I have been learning quite a bit taking care of Old Bessie by myself. She had a battery die, and I went out and purchased a new one. Of course, when I came home and put my brand new battery in, I put it in backwards. Whoops.

I replaced the 15 amp fuse at the bottom of the Main Fuse Box, and the 60 amp slow blow fuse between the starter and alternator. The remaining fuses in the Main Fuse Box are okay, as is the 40 amp slow blow fuse by the battery.

I am now having 2 issues. First, the tractor won't try to start when I turn the key. We were having an issue with this before, where it intermittently wouldn't try to turn over, but fidgeting with the shifters eventually worked. Now, nothing at all. I can start the tractor just fine by jumping the starter, but that leads to the second issue...

The tractor won't move! After it starts, Old Bessie won't go. Engine runs great, hydraulics all work, but she sits there like a stubborn mule. At this point, I'm thinking I may be at the limit of what I can fix, and need to call a mechanic to come out. But I figured I would ask you all, and see if you had any ideas on what may be transpiring!

/ MF 1250 Headache - Won't Move #2  
The "no start" thing, as always, could be a number of things, possibly related to the battery cross wired escapade, but not likely. If the problem existed before the battery change, it was most likely going to happen again sooner or later.