Brand new CB65 backoe problem- UPDATE

/ Brand new CB65 backoe problem- UPDATE #1  

plowhog

Elite Member
Tractor
Massey 1710 / 1758, Ventrac 4500Y / TD9
Got excellent dealer service to repair a bad seal in the backhoe ram. As explained in an earlier post, even with the engine running the backhoe would slowly drop.

Once a new seal was installed, all was well. But, after a few hours of digging, the problem returned. Another call to the dealer. The factory asked that I warm things up well, then extend the backhoe and turn the engine off. They wanted me to measure how many inches the ram extended (bled down) after ten minutes with the engine off. The measurement was easy. It had bled off the full extension of the ram after only 5 minutes.

I reported this back to the dealer. Fortunately, the hoe is useable although its a little annoying that it moves on its own. I'm waiting on word back, but the guess was that they might want to replace the entire ram. I'm not a mechanic, but I'm wondering if there is something internal that is scoring the seals and causing them to leak.

Last edited:
   / Brand new CB65 backoe problem- UPDATE #2  
Sorry to learn that the leak has returned and hope the dealer is able to fix it soon.

/ Brand new CB65 backoe problem- UPDATE #3  
Sounds like they are at least trying to go the extra mile to get it squared away. Let us know...

/ Brand new CB65 backoe problem- UPDATE #4  
My wild guess is, it was made out of tolerance.

/ Brand new CB65 backoe problem- UPDATE #5  
Just a thought: bad control valve?
A very good thread I read a while back ( I believe it was HEF) made a good point.
The cylinder rod, moving into or out of the cylinder, changes the volume of the cylinder. Fluid, being virtually incompressible, would prevent rod from moving (I likened it to putting your finger over a syringe and trying to move the plunger).
The point they made in the thread was that bad seal shouldn't cause cylinder drift...

Hope you get your hoe fixed soon.