Thinking about buying a Massey tractor

/ Thinking about buying a Massey tractor #1  

Bill A

I have about 100 acres that I like to mow once a year. I have little experience with tractors and since acquiring this land borrowed a tractor and brush hog from a friend.... a MF-135 and 6' brush hog. Eventually, I will have to give my friend back his tractor so I am trying to educate myself on which tractor I should buy.

Another friend suggests a 245. Exactly what would I get in a 245 that would be better than the 135? There doesn't seem to be much HP difference but the 245 does appear beefier. Any suggestions for me under $10k?

/ Thinking about buying a Massey tractor #2  
I would recommend stepping up to a 255. Its around 50-60 hp and a nice one can be had for under $10,000. Its a little larger and more powerful than the 245 and the 255 would handle a lot more than a 6' bushog. I would easily handle a 10' so you could get done mowing quicker. I'm sure it takes you quite a while to mow 100 acres with a 6'.

/ Thinking about buying a Massey tractor #3  
Bill A said:
I have about 100 acres that I like to mow once a year. I have little experience with tractors and since acquiring this land borrowed a tractor and brush hog from a friend.... a MF-135 and 6' brush hog. Eventually, I will have to give my friend back his tractor so I am trying to educate myself on which tractor I should buy.

Another friend suggests a 245. Exactly what would I get in a 245 that would be better than the 135? There doesn't seem to be much HP difference but the 245 does appear beefier. Any suggestions for me under $10k?

Besides being NEWER, (than a 135) the 245 is more like a 150 than a 135. That gives you more built-in weight (on the front end). It is slightly longer wheelbase. That in itself will make handling a heavy load on the 3-point hitch. Also, you get a bigger fuel capacity. The biggest difference is heavier/better front axle and steering components.