I have never used a grain drill and need help

/ I have never used a grain drill and need help #1  

BryanM

Gold Member
Tractor
John deere 2155, ford 1600
I apoligize, I feel like I am asking to many questions here! I just picked up a IH #10 grain drill at an auction and it does have a grass seeder attachment and it looks as if it works Have not tested and I have never used one before.

I look on the grass seeder chart under the lid of the grass seeder hopper but it does not give me orchard grass, It give aprox 7 grasses only a few I reconize Like timothy, canary ?

So here is the question what would I set the planter at what size seed is comparible to orchard grass?

Another question, Is the grass seed suppose to be layed in the cut that the disc makes or does it gett pushed in with rain? My seed tubes dont go all the way to the ground they stop six inches from the ground and are not perfectly aligned to drop seed in the furrows cut? Any info helpful!

/ I have never used a grain drill and need help
Has anyone ever operated a #10 Grain drill? Help?

/ I have never used a grain drill and need help #4  
I apoligize, I feel like I am asking to many questions here! I just picked up a IH #10 grain drill at an auction and it does have a grass seeder attachment and it looks as if it works Have not tested and I have never used one before.

I look on the grass seeder chart under the lid of the grass seeder hopper but it does not give me orchard grass, It give aprox 7 grasses only a few I reconize Like timothy, canary ?

So here is the question what would I set the planter at what size seed is comparible to orchard grass?

Another question, Is the grass seed suppose to be layed in the cut that the disc makes or does it gett pushed in with rain? My seed tubes dont go all the way to the ground they stop six inches from the ground and are not perfectly aligned to drop seed in the furrows cut? Any info helpful!