farmall c wont start

/ farmall c wont start #1  

aeastwoo

Tractor
farmall c
hi everyone newbie here i have a 53 farmall c ,starter wont crank engine over at all .just grunts and then nothing. battery charged full. had starter switch off and filed contacts still nothing.any suggestions. thanks.

/ farmall c wont start #2  
Start with the basics, are your cable connections good on both ends, make sure there isn't corrosion between the connector in the cable, as well as corrosion between the connector and the post or ground connectotion. Is the engine stuck? If you can turn the engine over. I would next pull the starter and make sure it's free and the brushes are good. If all that is good then you may have shorted winding stay in the starter. Good luck

/ farmall c wont start #3  
I'm assuming it is still the original 6V system. As mentioned, check your cable connections. Also, if the cables have been replaced with newer automotive type cables, like 4ga. cable, then that may be a lot of the problem. Replace them with no less than 1/0 cables. Makes a world of difference.

Some tractor dealerships can make custom cables, heavy truck parts places, and even a high performance shops may too. There are a few places online that have them also.

I also have a '53 Super C that I tolerated that problem for years, until this spring. Needed a new battery, so while I was at it, had NAPA make me a new set. They did not have 1/0 cable, only 2/0. Went with that. Pricey, but it makes that starter sing..!!

/ farmall c wont start #4  
:welcome: to TractorByNet!

Did you get it fixed?

/ farmall c wont start #5  
hi everyone newbie here i have a 53 farmall c ,starter wont crank engine over at all .just grunts and then nothing. battery charged full. had starter switch off and filed contacts still nothing.any suggestions. thanks.