front diff

/ front diff #1  

jongol7

Tractor
satoh bull
he there i have been reading and learning from these forums for a long time. Now i need the help. I have recently acquired a satoh bull. the tractor starts and runs well. However a few days ago i was trying to scrape out some pig pens (i am a small time pig farmer, yum) and noticed the 4x4 wasnt working. i picked up the front end with loader and with back wheels spinning fronts were not. Then to make things worse as i was pulling into shop i lost hydraulics. i think i got that figured out, a plugged line. i have removed front drive shaft but cannot get the front diff housing off. when jacked up i could turn the input shaft and one tire would barely turn, i could spin tire and hear clicking inside like splines slipping. But again i cant seem to get the housing off. Do i need to remove the wheel assemblies and shafts etc to het the housing off? any info or being pointed in right direction would be grateful.

thanks

/ front diff #2  
Not particularly familiar with your Satoh but Valley Power has a front axle parts diagram that may help you figure it out. Valley Power . It does appear that the side shafts have to be removed to pull the diff apart

/ front diff #3  
FIRST TEST......Jack-up one front wheel and put tractor in 4x4 and try to spin that wheel .....if it spins you have a problem !
Second test.......check if propshaft is spinning .
Third test ......check if 4x4 realy engages .

/ front diff
apologize its taken so long to reply work schedule gets me, i took apart the front end and found a couple of things not sure exactly what but... first someone before had removed shaft on left side so that explains that wheel not turning, second very low on fluid, i didnt find any metal chunks in housing so someone pulled out broken parts and threw back together with out fixing. i have a few pics if you can tell me exactly what i am looking at and if there is anything missing would be great. 20140629_101532.jpg