Satoh s470 (Buck) Clutch Issue

/ Satoh s470 (Buck) Clutch Issue #1  

jdangel817

Tractor
Satoh Buck
Hello All,

I'm fairly new to the tractor scene and have just enough mechanical knowledge to get myself in trouble. I am hoping to get some advice on my clutch issue.

My question relates to a Satoh s470 (Buck). I purchased this tractor a couple of years ago. It had been sitting for quite some time but I got is started and going none the less. When I first got it running I noticed that the distance in disengaging the clutch was extremely minimal. Figured the clutch was going out and added it to the "things to fix" list.

Because a couple of leaking hydraulic rams on the front end loader, very little time and/or funds to fix this tractor, it sat for a couple of years.

Started it up again last year, no clutch. Purchased new clutch pad, pressure plate, fly-wheel/clutch bearing and throw-out bearing off of a vendor on eBay and replaced over this last winter.

Here's the issue(s):

When disassembling I found that other than very rusted, including being rusted to the fly-wheel, the clutch pad had plenty of meat and the pressure plate seemed fine. Again, other than the extreme rust. I compared the new with the old and everything is the same. Had the fly-wheel surfaced and replaced the old with the new. Cleaned up, honed and very slightly greased the sleeve and chamber holding the throw-out bearing, and checked the condition of the fork that engages said sleeve.

As I was putting this back together I noticed that the contact between the pressure plate and throw-out bearing is very minimal, almost not existent. Even tore apart a second time to see if I had forgot something or if some part was missing or incorrectly reassembled. Nothing, there is no more mechanically that I could see.