Yanmar YM1610 and MTD Lawn Tractor Tiller, Any Advice Appreciated

/ Yanmar YM1610 and MTD Lawn Tractor Tiller, Any Advice Appreciated #1  

chief corpsman

:) Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to the forum and this is my first post.
I've been reading and appreciate the helpful members here. Wish I had more experience with PTO shafts but I do not. I'm thankful for finding this forum and for the knowledge of the members.

Recently I purchased a three point tiller that was the attachment for a 1986 Dayton/MTD lawn tractor. It's in real nice shape and I want to use it with my Yanmar YM1610.
I've made some modifications to the three point hitch and it will now line up correctly. The tiller came with a PTO shaft but the female yoke that connected to the lawn tractor was an odd spline size. I purchased a six spline quick disconnect and took the shaft to a machine shop. They cut off the odd end, welded on the new yoke which now works fine. I read the advice here about measuring for the correct shaft length and right now the shaft is back at the shop to be cut shorter. A question came to my mind after reading some threads here on the topic of an overrunning clutch.

Should I use an overrunning clutch to run the rotary tiller?

I have a 38" bushhog and mow grass without any problems.

Any advice will be much appreciated :)

Retired chief corpsman
USN

/ Yanmar YM1610 and MTD Lawn Tractor Tiller, Any Advice Appreciated #2  
Yes, you need an over-run clutch. I have been pushed too many times. I wish I could use one with my MMM, but it just won't work. I would not run a mower without one.

Having said that, you said that you didn't use one for your mowers. The tiller will shut down much quicker than the mower, so if you don't want one for your mower, you won't need one for your tiller.

But, again, personally, I would say yes, get a overrun clutch.

/ Yanmar YM1610 and MTD Lawn Tractor Tiller, Any Advice Appreciated
Thanks Jimmer, I really appreeessh :)