Help with NH 848 Baler

/ Help with NH 848 Baler #1  

PA Greene Farmer

Tractor
New Holland TD5050 Ford 4610 Belarus 825 cab
I am new to farming and having trouble with this so called field ready baler that I bought. Its a NH 848 and is giving me fits. Now I have a bearing that locked up at the top of the apron tension arm. I am not sure if I need to break the apron chain to replace it or not. Since I am new to farming, and round balers I am not sure how to get the tension off of this sprocket so that I can change the bearing. Any ideas? Any help would be much appreciated.

/ Help with NH 848 Baler
I do need to buy the manuals but really there is no time for that now. I want to fix this thing quickly and get backmin the hay. I figured that someone on here has had this same problem and looking for the fastest way to fix it. Thanks for the feed back. Any information is appreciated.

/ Help with NH 848 Baler #4  
I do need to buy the manuals but really there is no time for that now. I want to fix this thing quickly and get backmin the hay.

It appears that the 848 operator's manual is available as a pdf download. Under $11 and shouldn't take too much time. Apart from a manual specifically related to gearbox repair, there doesn't seem to be a complete service manual for the 848. That means the operator's manual is your best source for published repair and maintainence information.

If I had experience with NH chain balers, I'd help. But I don't, so I can't.

/ Help with NH 848 Baler
Just to get back to this NH 848 baler.......it had issues. Traded it in on BR740 baler. I like the newer baler much better. Someone slap me if I ever buy another apron chain type baler.....lol. Now if I can get the power steering/hydraulic issues worked out on the TD5050 I'll be thrilled.

/ Help with NH 848 Baler #6