newbie here...and new to tractors too! 69 ford 3000 questions.

/ newbie here...and new to tractors too! 69 ford 3000 questions. #1  

Ken Climb

Looking to buy my first tractor and honestly don't have a frigg'n clue about them! I have 5 acres of flat land with my home in the middle so it will be used basically for yard work and a little field work. I think its a 39hp but I can't see a hour meter anywhere. It starts and drives good, has a nice big loader and comes with a bunh of implements including a tiller, 5' feild mower, disks,plow,and big grader type thing. he wants a lot of money for this old tractor but it's still pretty much exactlywhat I think I would need other then not being a 4x4.
What are some common problems, or what should I be looking out forwith this model of tractor? Thanks! ken

/ newbie here...and new to tractors too! 69 ford 3000 questions. #2  
It was rated at 40 hp. The proofmeter (hourmeter) is located in the bottom center of the tach, like an odometer location in a speedometer. Overall its pretty bulletproof with a couple of exemptions. 1. The front spindles are not designed to carry the weight of a loaded loader bucket - be gentle. 2. Brakes - the drum brakes are notoriously ineffective and difficult to maintain.

/ newbie here...and new to tractors too! 69 ford 3000 questions. #3  
would need to know asking price to know if too expensive.

in my area a good running 3000 with a bunch of implements would probably go for 4500-5000$

she gas or diesel? if gas.. got a zenith or holley carb?

start good?

charge ok?

oil pressure dash lamp work?

soundguy

/ newbie here...and new to tractors too! 69 ford 3000 questions. #4