Tractor Depreciation Schedule

/ Tractor Depreciation Schedule #1  

Larry_Van_Horn

Gold Member
Tractor
Case 580D Backhoe, NH TC40D SS, JD 450BC dozer, Ford F700 dump
I thought some might find the attached interesting. Based on comments made in a my related thread on prices of NH and JD being very close to one another, I thought I would try to get some sense on the cost of ownership / depreciation.

I am an economist by training, so I tend to get hung up on trying to put numbers to something. The numbers in the table came from Machinerylink. I welcome your interpretation as I have mine. At the end of the day, there are so many other things that affect the purchase decision (as has been been pointed out to me by the TBNers, and these numbers represent average values for good equipment (defined?).

Some observations based on the limited information (with all the caveats that should imply /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif )
New Hollands tend to hold their value pretty well on a relative basis.

Enjoy,
Larry

Attachments

• 294958-depreciation2.jpg
    294958-depreciation2.jpg
    79.7 KB · Views: 1,725
   / Tractor Depreciation Schedule #2  
Wow! It looks to me like there is no significant difference between the big 3 brands when it comes to depreciation. This is good info - thanks for compiling and posting it!

/ Tractor Depreciation Schedule #3  
Great spreadsheet but it seems to be lacking some of the more popular tractors. I would be curious to see how NH stacks up to the Kubota B Series and the JD 4100 & 4200 Series.

/ Tractor Depreciation Schedule #4  
Larry_Van_Horn: