Buying Advice Askinf for advice on FIRST CUT ...AKA need help

/ Askinf for advice on FIRST CUT ...AKA need help #1  

sonjack06

I am very new to tractors and this discussion group so I guess I am as green (only on this front /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif) as they get. I am in need of advice from many of you on my upcoming tractor purchase, please hang with me on this. What I found (until I found this wonderful site) was not much info on choosing CUT's other than the dealers exist (and you have no idea if you are getting a reasonable price) so I am a tad bit overwhelmed. Here is my situation: I own 10 acres in Vermont that I am building a home on. 3 of those acres are wooded with a trail to maintian and large piles of rocks to move (I am using these for my house) the rest is meadow with several incline/slopes in the 10% range. I will use a brushbull (?) on probably 4.5 or so of those and I will need to do finish mowing on the rest. I have 1/3 mile sloped drive for lots of snow removal and I am also looking to purchase 10 more acres for sugaring/maple work as a hobby. I will do general landscaping work other times. I was set on the JD 4310 or 4410 (seemed very easy to use) until I visited the NH dealer and really liked the looks (yes, even the new style) and the build quality. Just by chance, while at the NH dealer, a 68 hour 4310 JD was brought in for trade consideration and I compared the 33DA and the 35DA to it and what a difference in the side by side in looks and noise level, solid feel and ergonomics. So I am feeling like one of these will be great but as you know with the 35DA you jump to the bigger frame. I have read that buy the highest HP on the smaller frame not lowest on the Bigger frame. I am wanting some input and advice on this decision. Also, I am 6' 4" 240 and the bigger frame seemed a bit more roomy, I like the DualPower feature but since I am knew to this I am easliy impressed :)o) I am sure. From what I have seen I may not be getting very go