What to look for-Ford 1920 tractor.

/ What to look for-Ford 1920 tractor. #1  

oz_in_SC

I am a total newbie to the whole tractor world so please bear with me.

In the local paper there is a Ford model 1920 tractor,loader and 6' bush hog for sale.
They are asking $3500.

No idea of year,hours or condition but I will find out tomorrow when I call.Around here tractors are pretty rare as nobody needs them on their 1/4 acre lot /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

What should I look for?

We have just bought land in NC that is in desperate need of cleaning up/clearing so this would be used up there.

Thanks oz.

/ What to look for-Ford 1920 tractor. #2  
I would think the price should be closer to $13,500. Just a 1920 w/ fwa will sell for at least $10k. My dealer sells them with loader and cab for $15k when they get one in on trade. As for what to look for, I can't tell you anything specific but they are very well built tractors with a great reputation. I have never heard of any problems with them. My neighbor uses his everyday on his farm since he got it new in 96. I have never had a problem with mine but have only had it for a year now. If it is only $3500 then there is either something seriously wrong with it or you have one great deal and should not be wasting time here and get over there and buy it.

/ What to look for-Ford 1920 tractor. #3  
Also, if it IS really that price, don't send your money to his "bank" overseas or let him do any weird banking transactions. That sort of thing smells of fraud (not saying that this IS fraud.)

Caveat emptor.

Mark

PS My brother inherited a 1920 with loader and hog from my grandmother. It was a great tractor - very noisy so use ear protection.

/ What to look for-Ford 1920 tractor. #4