Price Check Ford 4000 price & ?'s

/ Ford 4000 price & ?'s #1  

acw

Ford 4000 price & ?\'s

I'm new to tractors, but have a need for a tractor for general utility work on my property (driveway maintenance, mowing, light field work). I know someone selling a Ford 4000 4-cyl. gas tractor with SOS tranny. I have yet to check it over well, but it has recently received a new radiator and is said to run well. It has been repainted at some point, and certainly looks clean and well-kept at this point. A few ?'s:

-- Will this tractor mount a front-end loader? It seems that I've seen pictures of a 4000 with a loader, but wasn't sure if it needed to have been configured for this from the factory ...

-- I've looked over posts of things to look for when checking out old Fords, but anything specific to this tractor?

-- Any opinions in general of this tractor for general utility use, esp. the SOS tranny, of which I've seen mixed reviews ...

-- The asking price is $4000, which can probably be haggled to include a Woods 5' finish mower. I think this is a good deal -- any opinions?

Thanks for any input you could give!

Andrew

/ Ford 4000 price & ?'s #2  
Re: Ford 4000 price & ?\'s

Andrew,
Welecome aboard. I'm new here too, but will try to answer a couple of questions. I am assuming the transmission is the Select-o-Matic. That transmission has a checkered history and is either loved (when it works) or hated (when it doesn't). You might check with the local NH dealer about possible service. There maybe problems with getting parts and finding someone who can still work on these.

I have a '64 4000, the last year of the 4 cyl. It has power steering and a remote. I have the 5 speed with "shuttle shift". 3rd & revers line up and it is great for loader work. I have an Kelly loader. I'm not sure about mounting a loader on a tractor with a Shift-o-Matic.