TN 70, Transmissions

/ TN 70, Transmissions #1  

DaveHerndon

Tractor
New Holland TN70
Hi folks, first off, glad to be here. This web site is awesome! I lucked into finding it and look forward to visiting often.

I have a 135 Acre farm here in NC, maybe 90 of it is pasture (some of which needs major work as it was neglected). I've been shopping around and have decided that the TN70 NH model is what I think I want and need. I'm looking at the FWD model, no cab but fiberglass canopy, with a woods 1020 loader.

I have a 1949 8n tractor now (Bessie...heh) that I of course would never part it, but I need something bigger to get closer to getting my cows installed (i'm a software developer full-time, therefore, you'll get geek speak intermixed with farm-speak).

I'm a little confused though about the transmissions offered on the TN series. I want the power shuttle option for use with the loader, but it seems there are two flavors of this transmission:

8x8 constant mesh transmission with mechanical shuttle shift
8x8 Synchro Command™ transmission with mechanical or power shuttle shift

What exactly is the difference in the last 8x8 option? "synchro with mech or power shuttle shift".

What exactly is the "synchro" part? What exactly is mech or power then on top of this? My 8n is so simple ....<g>. One dealer told me I didn't want the "power" option as it makes it harder to have fine control over clutching slowly up something...like backing up to an implement. Is this so?

Amazingly (or not), both dealers I have talked to have both come to right at $25,000 for this tractor (FWD, with Shuttle). One dealer even broke the price down, so he says, by how much his cost is and added $1000 to it for his profit and the tractor price itself is based on a current promotion which includes an 18% discount.