Power Steering Cylinder

/ Power Steering Cylinder #1  

tractorpilot

Tractor
New Holland TC33
Reading the archieves, it would seem I am not the first to bend the rod on my power steering cylinder. I am trying to take it off to bring it to a rebuild shop as NH wants $487 for a new one.

Problem is this - the cylinder is hanging by the hydraulic lines and I cannot loosen them from the cylinder with a normal size wrench. Before I get out the cheater, I wanted to ask if anyone knows if this might be a reverse thread?

/ Power Steering Cylinder #2  
I am sure you have normal right-hand-thread hyd connections.
Most modern CUTs use a 37-degree JIC compression fittings, but
I have no personal experience with NH (Shibaura) machines.
Water gets into the threads and causes corrosion....they do not
need to be torqued down tremendously tight.

A slightly bent rod can be repaired, or a hyd shop can make a new
rod for you for maybe $100.

/ Power Steering Cylinder #4  
I think it's safe to say that left-hand threads are used only on things that
  • normally rotate in a counter-clockwise direction (e.g. lug nuts on the left side of some cars)
  • some gas fittings (to prevent incorrect connections)
  • one end of a turnbuckle
So as dfkrug stated, your hydraulic fittings are normal right-hand thread.

I once spent a lot of effort trying to loosen a bolt on the back end of the engine in a '57 Chevy. I gave up, ate lunch, and then realized that the bolt was threaded toward me. Duh. I was much younger then and had energy to spend.

tractorpilot apparently has already had that experience and that's why he/she's posting this question.

/ Power Steering Cylinder #5  
TedLaRue said:
I once spent a lot of effort trying to loosen a bolt on the back end of the engine in a '57 Chevy. I gave up, ate lunch, and then realized that the bolt was threaded toward me. Duh. I was much younger then and had energy to spend..

Good list, Ted.