Oil & Fuel Ford Dexta 2000 with 3 cyl Gas?

/ Ford Dexta 2000 with 3 cyl Gas? #1  

cjcocn

Silver Member
Hello all

I hope this the right forum for this .....

A friend of mine has an old Ford tractor. I called him up today and asked what model he had. He told me that he has a Ford Dexta 2000 with a 3 cyl gas engine.

I am new (extremely, extremely new) to tractors, but I thought that the Dexta models only came in diesel or 4 cyl gas engines? (and weren't the gas engines all shipped to Denmark, Sweden, etc?)

Having only seen his tractor from a distance, I can only say that it looks like an older model. I first mistook it for a N series because of the nose ... from a distance, remember (plus I am a newbie). He said it was a '60-something, but it looks (the nose again) like it shouldn't be older than the '61 (from the '57 to '61 body style).

So having said all that, did Ford(son) make a Dexta 2000 with a 3 cyl gas engine or was his unit probably re-powered with that engine?

I want to head over to his place, but by the time I get off work it is pretty much dark and I can't even make the 10 minute drive to his house before it gets dark.

This weekend (Sunday) I will head over there and have a look for myself (and try to find some badges or serial numbers), but I was hoping that in the meantime someone here could provide some info.

Thanks!

PS .... I don't have any special interest in this tractor (although I would buy it if he had it for sale), but being so new to tractors I would sure like to learn a bit more and I figure this is one means of doing so.

/ Ford Dexta 2000 with 3 cyl Gas? #2  
Post some pics.

Soundguy

/ Ford Dexta 2000 with 3 cyl Gas? #3  
   / Ford Dexta 2000 with 3 cyl Gas?
Soundguy (I was kinda hoping that you would see this thread!)

Hard to tell since I have only seen the tractor from the rear/rear quartering away.