TC35 rusted clutch

/ TC35 rusted clutch #1  

Newhollandharley

Bronze Member
Tractor
NewHolland TC 35 Boomer
When I turned 60 I thought about buying a Harley and got a tractor instead. 2003 NH TC35 Boomer with 85 hours on it. I'm brand new at tractors but got a really sweet deal. My problem is No one told me to lock down (release) the clutch so the flywheel and clutch plate seperate and don't rust together in the off season. I've gotten all kinds of advice from friends but so far nothing has worked. The plates are really stuck and I have no clutch. Pedal and linkage all work fine it just does not release. Local repair shop says $1,500 minimum, have to break tractor in two pieces. They have done this before. I have a front end loader on one end and a back hoe on the other. All kinds of heavy steel bolted on at both ends to re-enforce the frame. Lot's of work to get it in half. Here's the latest suggestion, cut a small hole in the bell housing directly over the clutch plate, insert a piece of cold roll steel against the clutch plate and use an impact tool to rattle the plate break the rust and set it free. What do think ? Does anyone have a drawing or exploded view of the clutch so I can see how to get to the place where the two are rusted together. How much access is there through openings in the spring plate ? I have to figure a way to do this other than breaking the tractor in half ..... I know from reading some of the threads there are some really bright people out there .... Let me have your best shot ... Thanks

/ TC35 rusted clutch #2