TRANSMISSION

/ TRANSMISSION #1  

mark_adams001

Hi there i bought a T 1520 tractor (same as the TC30 but has 5 more hp) this year with a FEL. This is the first tractor i have ever owned. had couple of questions for it. It has 9x3 non synchorized transmission.

1) Shifting----for example when you are in 2nd gear and in medium range, can you press the cluth and put it in low range without shifting everthing into neutral ( without putting the 2nd gear into neutral) or does everthing have to be in neutral when you change from low to medium or high range?

2) oil, hydrolic level. Where shoudl the oil level be on the oil dipstick? (inbetween the top and bottom hole on the dipstick?)

3) shifting---when you are in 2nd gear medium range and you press the cluth to go into 3rd gear should it make minor grinding noise or should the gears go in smoothly?

thx im new at this tractor stuff and these mught be stupid questions so thanks for you time guys.

/ TRANSMISSION #2  
As long as you stop you should be okay shifting into any gear with range or speed transmission.
Your oil level should be inbetween the two holes.

/ TRANSMISSION #3  
welcome to TBN Mark; Lots of knowledge (and some bs haha) here. Not wanting to hijack your thread but I also have a 1520 which is a sweet tractor. 57 hrs in about a year. took it in for 50 hour service , which a bunch of guys said I didn't need to because I could do it my self. Anyway had a little drip mark where it is parked in the garage. Had them check it while it was in there. Today it is in 3 pieces. Turns out an inner seal in the transmission was leaking. Thank goodness for warranty. BTW it is a hydrostat transmission. I miss the tractor these past two weekends. All the stuff my wife wants done usually "needs' the tractor. anyway i am glad i took it in for the 50 hr service, otherwise I would probably never known it until too late.

/ TRANSMISSION #4