1520 Engine hard start and smoking

/ 1520 Engine hard start and smoking #1  

bbomer

Tractor
Ford 1520
Hi, I'm a newb so any help would be appreciated.

I've owned my '89 1520 for 4 years and never really had any issues. Recently it started running rough right after I started it, but eventually it would even out (once the engine was hot). By rough I mean that it felt like it was missing and there were abnormal puffs of smoke coming out the muffler, usually only noticeable at low RPM. Eventually it got so that sometimes I'd have to try 2 or 3 times to get it started, which was concerning since it always started immediately before.

I figured it might be an injector problem (they are 20 years old after all), so I pulled one and it looked pretty filthy (could be normal for a diesel as i don't have much experience). I replaced them all with NH parts from my dealer. Unfortunately now the problem is worse than before. The tractor is harder to start and I see puffs of smoke and drops in RPM even at high throttle.

Is there some other adjustment I need to make after replacing injectors?
I'm hoping I didn't make an even bigger mess of things...

/ 1520 Engine hard start and smoking #2  
Have you checked out the fuel system for water and changed the filters ?:)

/ 1520 Engine hard start and smoking
Have you checked out the fuel system for water and changed the filters ?
I changed all the filters (including fuel) at the same time as the injectors. I suppose I could drain the tank and lines and put in new diesel. What else should I do to check for water?

You probably have a bad glowplug, or other issue within that circuit.
I thought that too, but I also get puffs of smoke (although much less frequent) every time I go to high RPM regardless of engine temp.

/ 1520 Engine hard start and smoking #5  
What else should I do to check for water?

Just check at the filter canister bottom.:confused:

/ 1520 Engine hard start and smoking #6