Newbie. Please help!

/ Newbie. Please help! #1  

Jolew0225

Tractor
None yet
Went 400+ miles yesterday to buy my first tractor. A Ford 1110 4x4 with an FEL and rear blade. Drove down and gave it a test drive. Looked a little rough but everything worked perfectly. I still wanted a second opinion. Loaded it on my trailer and drove an additional 20 miles the wrong way to the nearest NH dealer. They brought it in back, checked it over and said everything checked out and for $3400 it seemed like a reasonable deal.

I drive home. It takes 10+ hours as a blizzard moves into Central and Northern MN. We're talking 35mph on the freeway in 4wd, especially since this is my first time towing this much weight in a blizzard with my Tacoma. I get home at 5am, park and immediately go to bed. Wake up this morning (well noon) and am excited to play with my new scut. Immediately things go wrong. Front left tire is frozen in place. Won't budge. I hit the tire with a mallet, the end of the axleshaft, everything thinking it's frozen some how from being covered and blasted in snow and ice. Wont budge. Put the scut in four low to see if I can break it loose that way. Nope. That tire drags while the others are spinning in place trying to push it. Lift the front tires up with the loader and pull off the wheel and whack the end of the axle again. Axleshaft won't budge. Nothing. I am seriously upset/disappointed right now. The NH dealer even jacked the scut into the air to make sure all four tires were spinning in 4wd, and they were.

Any ideas? My new/old tractor is sitting in the middle of the driveway right now collecting snow because I can't even move it! Should I heat the axleshaft with a propane torch? Could it be frozen from the weather or is this a sign of something much more dire. I can't even get it back on the trailer in it's current state. I tried shifting in and out of 4wd and high/low to no avail. The right font tire works fine. Spins with full power in 4wd.