Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900

/ Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900 #1  

Train

Silver Member
What's good for Cold, and I mean cold weather?

/ Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900 #2  
I think I'd talk to your New Holland dealer about some New Holland F200 synthetic or Case Hytran Ultra SSL. They are both superior synthetic blends designed for temperatures down to -40 degrees F.

/ Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900
Okay, and are those good for year round?

/ Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900 #4  
Yes, unless the outside temperature goes above +120F.

120 ain't happening in my my lifetime and at -40 with an open cab, I'm staying hidden inside. Thanks, I'll check those out this afternoon.

/ Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900 #6  
I've been using F200 for two years all seasons no ill effects the loader is snappy in the wintertime less pump noise an easy shifts when it's 13 below Fahrenheit, my concern was during the Spring and summer months pulling plows and hay stacking no issues at all tractor runs quieter less gear noise , the only downside is the price about double the price of the standard oil but I really need my tractor during the winter months we get a lot of mostly lake effect snows take care

/ Hyd / Trans oil for cold weather/ Ford 1900 #7  
Could you be having a moisture problem insted of an oil problem. I change the hyd. oil in my 1900 every fall. Over the summer it always accumilates moisture. When winter time comes the moisture turns to ice and plugs the filter. If you fill out your profile it would give those trying to help moe info on the type of weather you are dealing with.
Bill

I'll explain, and yes I'm ready to be scolded. :eek: