1975 Ford 2000 Hyd Questions

/ 1975 Ford 2000 Hyd Questions #1  

EWJ

Hello- Newbie here.

Going to look at a 1975 2000 gasser this evening. The seller states the hyds are slow but promises that it is just due to a loose fitting that has now been fixed and that he does not know where to add hyd oil.

Where is the hyd fill on this? it has a PTO, so it is the 8 speed (6 fwd/2 rev) trans. If the level is good, then what could be the issue?

The hours are unknown on this unit, but it looks alright. What else to look out for- in general or with this particular series?

TIA.

/ 1975 Ford 2000 Hyd Questions #2  
The hydraulic fill plug is in the top of the rear end housing right next to the draft spring. Its a big round plug with a hex head on it. There is a small pipe plug in the side of the housing you can pull to let you know when the level is right. Its down near where your right heel would be when sitting on the tractor.

There is an allen head plug in the side of the hydraulic pump head for purging the air out of the system. Pull the center coil wire form the distributor and give it a few cranks to burp the air out after you fill her with fluid. Put the plug back in quick after it gives you a good shot of fluid out. If the hydraulics are still slow, the pump is probably shot.

The system is pretty simple and basically designed to run only the three point hitch. There isn't much flow available to run other stuff.

/ 1975 Ford 2000 Hyd Questions
Thanks for the info.

This unit has a loader hung on it: are we saying it should not have one, using the factory 3 point pump?

How involved is repairing the pump?

Last edited:
   / 1975 Ford 2000 Hyd Questions #4  
ps.. a 6f / 2 rev is NOT an 8spd.

8f/2r is an 8spd. 6f/2r is a SIX speed.

the big difference? live pto.

98% of 6spd twin sticks are non live pto.. whereas the 8spd will be live pto.

pump should be doing 4gpm or better. will run a loader but not blindingly fast.