Tires 2120 tire question

/ 2120 tire question #1  

bjc

Tractor
1993 Ford/NH 2120
hey folks,

i'm a newbie here, and to the world of tractors...

i bought a 2120 for my little slice of heaven and got a 2120 with turf tires at a golf course auction.

i have hilly terrain and need new front tires. i need ag tires to climb my pasture hills for mowing, but am not sure what size to get. the back turf tires are ok for now (won't use during rain anyhow), but really need the fronts changed.

i know about keeping the ratio and stuff like that, but am not sure how to order tires. the tire measurements are 27x8.5, but am also assuming (from reading on here) that the rim size is 15"?

if this is the case, i just need to look for 27x8.5-15 tires? i would like to change the rear tires eventually, but am not sure they make an ag tire that wide with such a small rim diameter...but if anyone has info on that as well that would be great!!! :)

thanks all, and have a great weekend (since today is friday).

bj

/ 2120 tire question #2  
You need to watch the tire outside dia.(OD) as well, just because the side wall numbers are the same does not mean mean the the OD is the same.

/ 2120 tire question
do you mean the measurements from the manufacturer of the tire or physically measuring?

i know the rear tires have no diameter sizes on them. just the rim size it seems.

thanks.

bj

/ 2120 tire question #4  
physical measuring. You will need to tell whoever you are buying the tires from what you are doing so they can help. If you get the tire OD wrong it will get expensive :mad:

/ 2120 tire question #5  
I take it that the tractor is used in FWD. If it is 2WD, then I don't see a problem (but then, my eyesight isn't what it used to be!)

/ 2120 tire question #6  
here is what is listed at tractordata dot com

Ford 2120 Tires:
Ag front: 8.00-18

Ag rear: 13.6-24

If you have turfs on now, to go to ag tires, you will need new to you rims as well.