NH LX865 Skidsteer Locked Up???

/ NH LX865 Skidsteer Locked Up??? #1  

Roscoe294

Bronze Member
I'm looking at a 1995 New Holland LX865 Skidsteer a local dealer has on their lot. The dealer said I could demo it but the last two times I've tried to line up the demo, the left side drive was locked up when they went to move it. Keep in mind the temp is below freezing.:confused::confused::confused::confused:

They put the machine in their heated shop and changed the hyd oil because it was milky. I'm sure they did not flush it. Also changed and checked chain case (final drive) oil. After that and warming up, it operated fine. Fast fwd a few weeks, still cold out, fired the machine up.....same problem, left side locked up. I've ran the machine around their lot on above freezing days without issue.

Seems to be a cold weather issue? I'm new to skidsteers so any help in determining the problem is appreciated. Obviously I dont want to buy something that needs major/expensive repair. Also, unknown hours on machine because the main cluster was bypassed at some point (before dealer). Machine is tight, runs good and has clean original paint.

Thanks

/ NH LX865 Skidsteer Locked Up??? #2