Mowing PTO disengaging while in use

/ PTO disengaging while in use #1  

whistling dixie

Tractor
Ford 1900
My 1900 pto is disengaging while I bushhog. This problem started a few months ago and only happened once or twice during the time it took to cut 3 acres. Finally, last week the problem progressed to where my boot being lodged on the lever would not even keep it engaged. The previous time cutting my boot being lodged on the lever held it in the engaged position. However, this last time cutting I could feel grinding in my foot through the lever and the pto would stop turning but my boot would still have the lever in the engaged position.
Can anyone tell me what is broken?
Could I fix on my own (I'm a rookie), or would a mechanic have to fix?
Cost?

/ PTO disengaging while in use #2  
My 1900 pto is disengaging while I bushhog. This problem started a few months ago and only happened once or twice during the time it took to cut 3 acres. Finally, last week the problem progressed to where my boot being lodged on the lever would not even keep it engaged. The previous time cutting my boot being lodged on the lever held it in the engaged position. However, this last time cutting I could feel grinding in my foot through the lever and the pto would stop turning but my boot would still have the lever in the engaged position.
Can anyone tell me what is broken?
Could I fix on my own (I'm a rookie), or would a mechanic have to fix?

There is a spring and a ball part of a detent mechanism that works in conjunction with shift fork and pto sliding gear. There might be where your problem
lies.You can go to NH website under part to see the illustration with the parts I explained. I can post a pdf of the parts tomorrow. Can you for ever tried to used a bungee cord, a piece of sting or wire to keep the pto lever in engaged position ? if it continue without jumping out I can say most likely is detent mechanism rather than sliding gear issue.

JC,