Is Headland Piston Better Than Standard Piston??

/ Is Headland Piston Better Than Standard Piston?? #1  

wjb-49

Silver Member
Tractor
LS MT573-CPS, Ford 4610
In working on my Ford 4610 today (Reference this thread) we found that it has Headland pistons rather than Standard pistons. A ring kit for Headland pistons costs almost three times the cost of standard ring kits - a kit is for only one piston.

The technician told me a new standard piston with rings would cost less than only the Headland rings.

That brings me to two questions:

1. Are the different types of pistons interchangeable?
  2. Is the quality\performance of the Headland pistons worth the extra expense?

Thanks for any thoughts or experiences.

/ Is Headland Piston Better Than Standard Piston?? #2  
I'm not a diesel mechanic, but I've rebuilt enough gas engines to have learned my lesson around mixing and matching pistons and other parts in the rotating assembly... Unless the replacement piston is exactly the same weight and size as the one that's busted, it's better to either stick with what's in there, or just replace all of them as a set. Same goes for the rings. The last thing you need is to have pulled the rod and piston, and then have to re-do the whole thing six months or a year later when the vibration or piston slap tears things up.

/ Is Headland Piston Better Than Standard Piston??
Re: Is Headland Piston Better Than Standard Piston?? . . . Update.

Well . . . After what I learned today this has become a moot question. A local Ford/New Holland parts dept. associate told me that Headland pistons were discontinued by New Holland.:frown: I ordered standard pistons and rings and they should arrive tomorrow morning.

I will update my original thread (see above) with a report on how they improve how my tractor runs.

mahlers, Thanks for the good advice!

/ Is Headland Piston Better Than Standard Piston?? #4  

that is the way to go get as far away from the headland pistons as possible