Page 1 of 5 1234 ... LastLast
    Tractor
    Fordson Major Diesel, McCormick Deering W4, Ford 1510, John Deere L111

Default No hydraulics... GAH!!!

Okay folks, I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place. Today, when I went out to blow snow, I started my Ford 1510, which had been plugged in for about three hours, let it idle @1500 rpm to warm up for 30 min, got on, pulled back on the FEL lever to raise it and... nothing. I knew it was a cold night, (heck, all week has been below zero) but today it was 9 above, so I thought it would be a good day to get some work done. I decided to let it run some more. 30 min later, still nothing.

To make a long story short, It ran for 3 hours. I was able to engage the PTO with no problem, but the hydraulics never budged. The power steering also wouldn't work. I ended up clearing our 240' driveway (4'"-12" of snow) with a push scoop!

Now I don't have a machine shop and I'm no mechanic, but I'm asking myself what the problem is. It could be water in the fluid, but the the fluid on the dipstick looks clear enough. It could just be thick, summer weight fluid and just never thinned enough to work, or it could be a bad pump. Either way, unless I can get the FEL and snow-blower raised, I can't even get the tractor on the trailer to get it into the dealer for a check-up. I'd like to get synthetic fluid in it to make winter operations easier, but with no warm weather on the horizon, I can't figure out a way to fix any of this.

Thoughts? Experiences? Advice?

Joe
    Fordson Major Diesel: Case 3-bottom Trip Plow, Case 12' Trip Field Cultivator, Kewanee 130 Disc, John Deere 1209 Mower Conditioner, John Deere 594LW Side Delivery Rake, New Holland Hayliner 273 Baler, 18' Spike-Tooth Harrow
    Ford 1510: Du-Al 105 Loader, "The Thumb" Grapple, Bush Hog RBC60 Rear Blade, Woods HC54 Rotary Cutter, Tarter 5' Heavy-Duty Hinge Back Box Blade, Buhler Farm King Y600 Snowblower

Tractor
    New Holland TC40

Default Re: No hydraulics... GAH!!!