TC35 inner air filter black inside

/ TC35 inner air filter black inside #1  

navyjoe

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota BX25 and L2501
I am trying to fix a intermittent los of power on my tc-35. Changed out the fuel filter first and that did not fix it.

Decided to change out my air filters next and was really surprised to find a black coating in the INSIDE of the inner filter. The outside was clean, but the inside looked like it has a coating of black soot!

Is that normal?????

/ TC35 inner air filter black inside #2  
I don't think that is normal at all. It might indicate a leaking intake valve that is spewing back into the air filter. That definitely could be the reason you are losing power. I'm not a diesel expert, so it could be something beside a leaking valve, but you know it has to be something coming from the engine and is not normal for the intake.

/ TC35 inner air filter black inside
Thanks. I didn't feel to good about it when I saw it. I don't have my manual handy, but wonder if there is a valve adjustment due? It has 1027 hours on it. Up until now I assumed it had hydraulic lifters.

/ TC35 inner air filter black inside #4  
I changed the air filter on my TC35A two days ago. It had about 200 hours on it. It definitely did NOT have a coating of black on the inside.

/ TC35 inner air filter black inside #5