Traction 4WD New Holland TN

/ 4WD New Holland TN #1  

spotts52

Tractor
New Holland
I have two problems.

1. How do I get the TN (I belive it is a 65) into 4wd? I have a lever at the left hand side of the drivers seat that I am told I just pull up? I do this and it doesn't go into 4wd, I know this as I have been in sticky mud and teh front wheels dont spin. The 4WD light is permanently lit on the dash board.

2. There is a lever just behind the accelerator pedal on the floor. What do this do please?

I don't have the workshop manual and I am a volunteer driver. Ant assistance would be appreciated.

/ 4WD New Holland TN #2  
Hi there, I don't know much about your TN but I am sure others will help with your questions. Some pictures of which lever you are meaning may help though. It may be the rear diff lock lever that you are referring to behind the accelerator?? Just guessing though as I don't know the TN.
Do you mean the 4WD light is on even if you disengage the 4WD?

/ 4WD New Holland TN #3  
Need more description of your handle/lever and location.
I have a 4020 made same place in Italy as your model.
There is a lever with a yellow ball that is the PTO engagement on the left of the seat. Down is engaged, straight up is off.
The 4WD engagement is a large T shaped handle that comes up through the deck. While moving slowly forward you pull the T handle up. It has a long travel, but not much resistance.
To disengage you push it down forcefully to the bottom. If it is up a little the dash light will stay on but the drive may not still be engaged.
The 4WD is similar to that on autos, you really don't feel it is on and it doesn't effect the feel of the steering.
It may not engage if you are stuck, the same way in a lot of autos.

/ 4WD New Holland TN
John40981 and pacerron. Thanks for your information.