Nasty Little Hydrostatic Transmission Secrets...

/ Nasty Little Hydrostatic Transmission Secrets... #1  

jinman

Rest in Peace
Tractor
NHTC45D, NH LB75B, Ford Jubilee
...your dealer "forgot" to tell you.

Okay, I admit being overly dramatic, but the recent number of posts regarding hydrostatic transmissions and "slippage" under load has caused me to do some detailed study. That study has led me to some discoveries that surprised me. Frankly, my study has been limited to New Holland and that's why I'm posting this here instead of in the general forums. Many times I have started to respond to Bill's (Henro's) posts and realized that I should not make comments about Kubota and/or Deere because I have no specific knowledge of their systems. With that said, here is the <font color="blue"> nasty little New Holland secret. </font>

New Holland has their tractors divided into classes, Class 0, Class I, Class II, Class III. Within a class, all tractors use the same hydrostatic transmission. There is no difference in that transmission for any range of engines within the class. As an example, let me use Class III. The TC35D, TC40D, and TC45D have the exact same transmission with the exact same parts, pressures, and specifications. The Repair Manuals and the Illustrated Parts Manuals show only one part number for these tractor's transmissions and sub-assembly parts. My discovered little "secret" is that the transmission relief valve pressure (which is fixed and unadjustable) is 5,000 psi on all three tractors.

What does this imply for operation, or why should any of us care? Well, this means that if you set up a circumstance where the TC35D will open the relief valve and stall, in the same situation, the TC40D and TC45D will do no better. The transmission physically cannot make use of the additional horsepower and torque of these engines. For pushing and pulling in Low Range-Turtle, the TC35D will have just as much power as its big brothers if the engine doesn't stall.