1920 questions

/ 1920 questions #1  

fire72

Bronze Member
Tractor
Ford 8N, John Deere 2010
I've had my '99 NH 1920 for a few weeks now, and have put about 30 hours on it. Two things I've noticed that I'm wondering how much attention they need how soon:

1. Most of the time the tractor is running, I get white smoke from two of what appear to be crankcase breather tubes exiting on the right lower side of the engine, toward the rear, next to the oil filter. Engine runs smooth, plenty of power, nothing unusual from the exhaust stack. Seems a little excessive to be normal, although I'm new to diesels - my old Massey 135 was the gas version. Am I seeing a minor problem, major problem, or just a personality quirk?

2. The axle lock does not fully engage much of the time. With the pedal at the limit of travel, it feels like the gears a just making brushing contact but not engaging. Is this a simple linkage adjustment or a trip back to the dealer?

Thanks for any help TBN can give on this...

/ 1920 questions #2  
As far as the white smoke goes, I'm not sure. Usually white smoke indicates water vapor. Have you changed the oil? I would and see if it goes away. Hopefully it is just water vapor.

I have a service manual for my 2120 that also covers the 1920. The differential lock does not appear to have any adjustment and any work on it seems to require the removal of the differential assembly. It does not appear to require splitting the tractor. It apears that either a shaft, a roll pin or two, a differential lock fork, or a differential lock clutch are the likely culprets. Doesn't look too bad to repair. /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif

Andy

/ 1920 questions #3  
Andy is giving you good advice. I would check the oil.. and change it. If it has emulsified ( water ) hopefully it wa sonly from setting at the dealers lot.. and not because of a blown headgasket.