Problems with Workmaster 50

/ Problems with Workmaster 50 #1  

KentC

Tractor
Branson 7845R
I have a new Workmaster 50 that now has about 60 hours and has several problems.

The seat safety switch on my new tractor is making work difficult. I weigh about 200 lbs and have to set the seat on the lightest setting to keep the engine running. Even at this setting, the engine will die if I lean too far to watch the rear implements. A lighter person cannot use the tractor at all. Took it to the dealer, who contacted New Holland. Said they are aware of the problem, but do not have a solution. Any ideas without bypassing the safety switch?

The bucket on my front end loader will sometimes stall on the downward rotation. Sometimes it will go really slow and others will stop altogether. Most of the time the bucket rolls down fine. Intermittent problem. I have a dealer installed after-market third function hydraulic valve installed.

I am concerned that along with the problems listed, that the dealer has already replaced the alternator and the neutral safety switch on this tractor. In the few months that I have owned the tractor, it has spent about 8 weeks in the shop. The build quality seems weak on this tractor.

/ Problems with Workmaster 50 #2  
Kent,

I am a retired NH dealer service manager and we solved the WM50 OPS switch issue by using high density foam to modulate the switch action. Our problem was a light operator and the switch would not close so the engine continuallly died.

The fix is to put a piece of foam next to the switch under the seat, adjacent to the contact arm to "modulate" the movement - don't jam it in to defeat the switch or bypass it as you need to have it should you fall off the machine accidentally. The foam usually is found in packaging materials and the stuff we used was black in color. New Holland dealers can look this solution up on the Dealer Portal Asist program.