Ford 4000 4cylinder Diesel - Clutch not working and grinding gears

/ Ford 4000 4cylinder Diesel - Clutch not working and grinding gears #1  

dlynes

Tractor
Ford 4000 Diesel
Hello,

I am new to the tractor world as I just bought a 1960's Ford 4000 Diesel, 4cylinder. I am not sure how many hours are on it nor do I know how many owners there have been. Upon delivery I drove it around the block and it drove well. The second drive, the clutch would not engage and I caught **** forcing it into gear as the gear grinded. After mowing for almost two hours, the clutch worked enough to shift and park it but I did not continue to test the clutch or shift. Yes I do know the tractor does not have a sequential gear box but I know very little more. I also regret that I have not checked the oil level yet but I did adjust the pedal and it did not help at all.

What suggestions and advice would you recommend as I start trying to troubleshoot this?

Thanks so much!

PS I am not a mechanic but I am a gear head and I enjoy wrenching myself.

/ Ford 4000 4cylinder Diesel - Clutch not working and grinding gears #2  
I would say first to purchase to good owners shop manual. I just finished splitting my tractor thinking I had a clutch problem and it ended up being the clutch rod. I got some bad information from a ex-tractor mechanic and I split mine for no reason. If you have the luxury of having more time on your hands to wait for some others to read your post you will be better off waiting to see if anyone else has the same or equivalent tractor that can give you some good pointers. Good luck with your issue. I will check back on this post to see what others suggest.

/ Ford 4000 4cylinder Diesel - Clutch not working and grinding gears