hydrostatic VS gear on TC30 model?

/ hydrostatic VS gear on TC30 model? #1  

gregp

Bronze Member
While i am waiting for a tc24da to get in i have been thinking about the tc30. I have to admit i am partial to the looks of the new da model.
My question is what is the real world difference in the two transmissions. I can get a gear driven tc30 for quite a bit less than a 24da or a hydro tc30. I will be running a power rake and tiller and will also have a loader for snow removal in the winter. One more thing, the hydro on the tc24 has "cruise control" but the tc30 hydro does not. Is this any big deal? Would it be easier to operate the tiller or power rake at a constant speed with out holding my foot on the pedal?
I have little experience with either. I really need the input no matter what it may be. I have cash in pocket and it is burning a hole through. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif The dealer has a gear tc30 on hand. A hydro will take a month or two. In spite of this burning in my pocket i can wait if i really should. Thanks, Greg

/ hydrostatic VS gear on TC30 model? #2  
First thing that jumps out - you mention running a tiller. There may be many cases where you want to run a slower ground speed (while maintaining PTO speed) than a typical gear tranny delivers even in low-low. That alone is a good case for "creeper" gears (not sure if that's available on a TC30) or a hydro. How slow is slow enough? Good question but I suspect you'd want 1/2 mph or slower often enough that the regular gear tranny might not do it.

/ hydrostatic VS gear on TC30 model? #3  
This is endlessly debated on tbn, but based on your planned uses, wait for the hydro.

FYI - Not sure how serious you are about your future "sidework" with the harley rake etc, but you may want to consider the bigger tractors. I have a TC18 and it is a fantastic lawn mower, snow remover & mulch mover, but she just don't dig. With the lawn prep, there is bound to be some dirt moving required...