TC45 maintenance questions

/ TC45 maintenance questions #1  

itsmatt

Tractor
New Holland TC 45, John Deere 420W
Hi all,

I'm getting ready to do my (overdue) 300 hour service on my TC45 Tuesday morning and I have some questions that might be dumb, but I'm a bit unfamiliar with much of the maintenance I'll be doing and I don't want to mess anything up.

First question: I've never taken the loader off the TC45. I understand that you can do this but I don't know if this is necessary to do during the maintenance or wise for me to attempt by myself. Is there any reason I'd need to do this?

Second question: I'm a newbie about hydraulics. Don't the loader cylinders have fluid in them when they are extended? Would that matter during a hydraulic change? I got the specifications for the number of gallons I need to use for the change and was concerned that those cylinders might throw things off a bit.

Third question: Other than the emergency brake (I guess it is called that) being sometimes difficult to lock into place - sometimes I have to really push it down to feel that little pop that I think tells me it is actually set, I am not sure if there is anything else to be concerned with on this tractor. Are there any tips/hints that folks do at the 300 hour mark that aren't mentioned in the maintenance manual?