Draft Control - TC48DA

/ Draft Control - TC48DA #1  

Crisswell

Bronze Member
Tractor
New Holland TC 48DA
I'm a newbie. Just got my tractor on Thursday - FINALLY. I love it!! It's a TC48 FWD with an 18LA loader and RFM.

Here's my next dumb question! :eek:

I'm trying to figure out if I have to do anything with the 3 pt and/or Draft controls to allow the RFM to "float" with the terrain, when mowing?? The salesman that delivered the tractor to me told me the Draft control positioned all the way to "+" would take care of it - but he wasn't all that sure of himself and I had that feeling you get when you're pretty sure someone is trying to sound like they know what they're doing, but don't!

I read the operator "Draft Control" manual section, but it's not real clear on when to use it and what it does - only how to turn it on.

Trying to use some common sense, it would seem to me that the RFM would always be floating if the 3 pt hitch is fully lowered, since the top link has no hydraulics. The Draft control should have nothing to do with it. Is that right??

What does the draft control do and when do you use it??

Thanks!

Andy

/ Draft Control - TC48DA #2  
You don't have to set, adjust or turn anything on to get it to float. It is a design function of the three point hitch. Let the mower down all the way and it will follow the ground. Three point hitches have power up only and they don't hold anything down. It's like lifting something up with your open palm. BTW, congratulations on your new tractor.

/ Draft Control - TC48DA #3  
Crisswell said:
I read the operator "Draft Control" manual section, but it's not real clear on when to use it and what it does - only how to turn it on.

Andy

Draft is used for ground engaging implements, like a plow. RFM does not qualify!!!!!!!!!!!!
Bob

/ Draft Control - TC48DA
Thanks. That's what I thought.

Andy

/ Draft Control - TC48DA #5