New Holland TC40D

/ New Holland TC40D #1  

Silver Member
Tractor
New Holland TC40D
I am new to this so please bear with me.

I have just purchased a new TC40D. I have put 30 hours over the last 30 days on it. It seems you have to muscle it to put it into gears ( I or II). It is the same going from 2 wheel drive to 4 wheel drive. Is this normal?

This is my first tractor so any help would be appreciated. I came across this site when I was researching tractors. I have already learned a lot from all of you.

Thanks,

Wally

/ New Holland TC40D #2  
602466 said:
I have just purchased a new TC40D. I have put 30 hours over the last 30 days on it. It seems you have to muscle it to put it into gears ( I or II). It is the same going from 2 wheel drive to 4 wheel drive. Is this normal?

Yes its normal, but a gentle tap on the "go pedals" (HST pedals), either forward or reverse, will let those two levers do their job without muscle.

/ New Holland TC40D #3  
602466 said:
I am new to this so please bear with me.

This is my first tractor so any help would be appreciated. I came across this site when I was researching tractors. I have already learned a lot from all of you.

Thanks,

Wally

I think you're really going to like that 40D. Welcome to TBN.

/ New Holland TC40D #4  
Tapping lightly on the FWD or REV HST pedal will help you engage your Range I or II as Chris (DocHeb) said. This is common for any size or brand of tractor. As you get used to the tractor, this will be second nature.

If you have a FEL, putting the bucket on the ground and raising the wheels slightly will make shifting into and out of 4WD easy. Also, if you move the steering wheel left and right while moving forward slowly, that may make it easier. The problem is called "driveline wind-up" and is caused by tension between the front differential and the transmission. Relieving the tension will allow easy shifting.